Home   >   News & Events   >   2020 Nominees Announ...
April 30, 2020

2020 Nominees Announced!


On May 20th, the fifth annual Spirit of Sheboygan County Volunteer Awards will stream LIVE on United Way of Sheboygan County’s Facebook and YouTube channels.

Each spring, the Spirit of Sheboygan County Volunteer Awards recognizes individuals and groups from all corners of the county for volunteering their time and talents to support local nonprofit agencies.

“The Spirit of Sheboygan County Volunteer Awards are usually held in April in honor of national volunteer month,” said Lee Anne Raleigh, Volunteer Center Coordinator from United Way of Sheboygan County. “We aren’t able to gather together in person because of COVID-19, but we are excited that this virtual edition means more people can celebrate with us in the comfort of their homes!”

The following is a list of all the nominees. Winners will be announced during the event.

*All finalists are marked with a star next to their individual or group name.

Youth Volunteer Star

  • Chelsea Braun*
  • Mckenna Daye
  • Madeline (Maddie) Green*
  • Jenna Kaland
  • Lauren Larson
  • Blake Lentz
  • Autumn Pfeifer
  • Lindsey Thompson
  • Natelie Walcott*

Group/Team Volunteers of the Year

  • Cleveland State Bank Volunteer Group*
  • Ducks Unlimited Greenwing Day
  • Great Marriages Volunteer Mentors
  • Humane Society of Sheboygan County Volunteers
  • Johnsonville Volunteer Group
  • Kohler-Andrae Friday Group*
  • Love In the Name of Christ
  • Mike and Tammy Skelton*
  • NODA Team at Pine Haven Christian Communities
  • Rage Fitness/Kick It Volunteer Group
  • REINS, Inc. Equine-Assisted Activities and Therapies
  • Sharon S. Richardson Community Hospice Volunteers
  • Shaw Family Playground Volunteers

Outstanding Board of Directors

  • Active8 Sheboygan Board of Directors
  • Boys & Girls Club
  • Family Connections
  • Humane Society of Sheboygan County
  • Love In the Name of Christ of Sheboygan County
  • Nourish Farms*
  • Safe Harbor of Sheboygan County*
  • The Salvation Army
  • Sheboygan County Food Bank*
  • Sheboygan Symphony Orchestra Board of Directors
  • Weill Center for the Performing Arts

Community Spirit Award

  • Masters Gallery Foods*
  • Sargento Foods Inc.*
  • Wells Fargo*

Volunteer of the Year

  • Judy Bentley*
  • Sue Dennis
  • Larry Doolittle*
  • Diane Ellis
  • Kate Gavin*
  • Kim Geiser
  • Sandy Goetsch
  • Sandra (Sandi) Howard
  • Shirley Kaas
  • Kathy Mervar
  • Shannon O'Malley-Thomas
  • Jason Paulson
  • Gerry Plehn
  • Sue Prange
  • Vicki Rautmann
  • Rob Roman
  • Patricia Sather
  • Heather Torke
  • Joe Tobola
  • Patricia Warner
  • Phillip Zellmer

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Karen Bruinooge
  • Ken King
  • Tom Leibham*
  • Heather Torke*
  • Tom Warosh*

Every day volunteers are stepping up and serving those in need. During the 2019 Day of Caring event, 58 projects were completed at 38 local nonprofit agencies by 1,016 volunteers. Collectively, that amounts to 4,867 hours on that single day.

Outside of Day of Caring, 1,618 volunteers gave of their time through volunteer opportunities posted on the Sheboygan County Volunteer Center in 2019.

For details of how to join the Spirit Awards celebration, click here.

For questions, leave a message at 920-458-3425 or email United Way of Sheboygan County at info@uwofsc.org.

Share this on: