Home   >   News & Events   >   2019 Spirit Award No...
March 19, 2019

2019 Spirit Award Nominations

During National Volunteer Week, United Way of Sheboygan County is hosting the fourth annual Spirit of Sheboygan County Volunteer Awards on Wednesday, April 10 at Breaking Bread.

Sheboygan County residents have always shown their concern and compassion for this community by volunteering. The annual Spirit of Sheboygan County Volunteer Awards exists to recognize individuals and groups from all corners of the county for volunteering their time and talents.

After the nomination deadline, the Awards Advisory Committee met and discussed the amazing support the volunteers offered the community to chose the finalists and winners.

“I had the absolute pleasure of reading through over 80 nominations of exemplary volunteers in our community this year, up from 42 in 2018. Reading through the nominations have brought to light all the excellent work these individuals and groups are involved with throughout the year. Active community engagement and support are at the heart and soul of Kohler Company’s 146-year history and the work that our associates and community members do to support volunteerism in Sheboygan County is inspirational. I can’t wait to be a part of it all again for years to come,” said Caleb Richter, Sr. Project Support Specialist Kohler Co. and Member of the 2019 Spirit Awards Advisory Committee.

The following is a list of all the nominees. All finalists are marked with a star next to their individual or group name and will be recognized at the event. Winners will be announced at the event.

Youth Volunteer Star

  • Aaron Tenpas*
  • Gillian Brusse*
  • Julia Gozdziewski*
  • Allison Kreft*
  • Kaitlin Mueller*
  • Kaley Burrows
  • Taylor Higgins
  • Ellie Rammer
  • Mikayla Rieck
  • Kayla Shircel
  • Kimmy Schipper
  • The Pond Brothers

Group/Team Volunteers of the Year

  • Girls Reaching Out*
  • Great Marriages Mentor Couples*
  • Sharon S. Richardson Volunteers*
  • Sheboygan Service Club *
  • Cleveland State Bank
  • Early Bird Rotary Club
  • Furniture Ministry
  • Harvest for the Hungry
  • IBEW 494
  • John & Nancy White
  • Johnsonville
  • Johnsonville Young Professionals Community Engagement Team
  • Kohler High Key Club
  • Michibago Music Teachers Association (MMTA)
  • Rockline Industries
  • Sargento Talent Acquisition Team/Sargento New Hires
  • Sargento Employees Concerned About People (SECAP)
  • The Beacon (Kohler Co.)
  • The Grupe Family
  • The Knox Family
  • The Pond Family

Outstanding Board of Directors

  • Habitat for Humanity Lakeside Board of Directors*
  • Nourish Farms Inc Board of Directors*
  • RCS Employment Services Advisory Board*
  • Weill Center Board of Directors*

Community Spirit Award

  • Johnsonville Sausage*
  • Kohler*
  • UnitedOne Credit Union*
  • Webster-HSA Bank*

Perseverance in Volunteerism

  • Heidi Hediger*
  • Chris Kennedy*
  • Shelly Nigro-Struve*

Volunteer of the Year

  • Kathy Rowe*
  • Don Schultz*
  • Marge Voigt*
  • Nancy Wagner*
  • John White*
  • Lauren Adel
  • Tracie Baker
  • Jason Ecclestone
  • Jeff Gorr
  • George Griffiths
  • Ruth Hauer Hoffmann
  • Dan Hennell
  • Jackie Kalkofen
  • Dennis Ketterman
  • Susette Kolberg
  • Cinda Langhoff
  • David Leibham
  • Carlene Leonard
  • Mary Nowacki
  • Patricia Sather
  • Karl Schaffenburg
  • Germaine Souik
  • Paula Siech
  • Terry Scherer
  • Mary Jane Tauschek

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Karen Bruinooge*
  • Mary Ann Krause*
  • Jeff Lynds*
  • Steve Schmitt*
  • Phil Zimmermann*
  • Bev Dulmes
  • Marty Steinbruecker
  • Michael Cunningham

Join us in celebrating the volunteerism in our area! Register by April 4th to attend the event and help us celebrate the spirit of volunteerism that resides in our county!

Registration is $15 per person and will open for this event on Monday, March 25th. Thanks to the event sponsors, all finalists were contacted to receive a complimentary lunch.

Click here for ticket information or call 920-458-3425 for more information.

Share this on: