Home   >   News   >   2018 Nominees Announ...
April 2, 2018

2018 Nominees Announced!

During National Volunteer Week, United Way of Sheboygan County is hosting the third annual Spirit of Sheboygan County Volunteer Awards on Wednesday, April 18 at The Osthoff Resort.

Individuals and groups from all corners of the county will be recognized for their efforts in assisting nonprofits in Sheboygan County continually meet their agency’s missions.

“The involvement we have in volunteering in Sheboygan County is extremely impressive!,” said Amanda Ecker, Product Data Specialist for Johnsonville Sausage and Awards Advisory Committee Member.  

The following is a list of all the nominees. All finalists were determined by the Awards Advisory Committee and will be recognized at the event. All finalists are marked with a star next to their individual or group name.

Youth Volunteer Star, honoring an individual volunteer under the age of 18:

  • Dustin Eilers*
  • Samantha Nussberger*

Group/Team Volunteers of the Year, honoring a group or team of two or more people that volunteer together on the same project under a group or team name:

  • Dog Walkers
  • Furniture Ministry Team
  • Johnsonville United Way Steering Team
  • Johnsonville Volunteer Group
  • Johnsonville YP Community Engagement Committee*
  • Kohler Co.*
  • Resource Development & Communication Team for Love INC
  • ReStore Volunteers*
  • Sheboygan SOUP*
  • UW-Extension Master Gardeners*
  • Barb Nyenhuis/Diana Schultz
  • Kandy Huiras/Christine Tetzlaff of Town & Country 4H Club

Outstanding Volunteer Board of Directors, honoring a nonprofit board that has shown exceptional leadership in driving a nonprofit organization:

  • Above & Beyond Children’s Museum*
  • Family Connections, Inc.*
  • Love Inc.*

Community Spirit Award, honoring a corporation that has made a substantial impact in the community by promoting service to their employees by providing volunteer hours, engaging in other volunteer activities and providing paid time for employees to volunteer:

  • Aurora Sheboygan*
  • HSA Bank*
  • Sargento*

Perseverance in Volunteerism, honoring a volunteer who has overcome significant obstacles in order to engage in service to others:

  • Clarence Goetsch*
  • Sandi Stein*
  • Darlene Vanderkin*

Volunteer of the Year:

  • Petra Boldt
  • Brooks Hesselink*
  • Sue Dennis
  • Linda Hundt
  • Jackie Kalkofen
  • Jane Kimble-Ray*
  • Susette Kolberg
  • Mary Mitch
  • Marilyn Price*
  • Jane Renzelmann
  • Patricia Sather
  • Judy Schmidt*
  • Ashleigh Yonke*

Lifetime Achievement Award, honoring a volunteer who has exhibited a lifelong commitment to volunteerism and community service:

  • Beth Grosshuesch*
  • Henry Jung*
  • Mary Mitch*
  • Mike Moegenburg*
  • Bonnie Schmitz*
  • Dr. Christine Tempas*

We are so excited to honor these individuals and groups on April 18th at the event.

Register by April 11th to attend the event and help us celebrate the spirit of volunteerism that resides in our county! Register online or by calling 920-458-3425.

Special thanks to our sponsors!

With their support, ALL individual nominees receive a complimentary lunch.


  • Johnsonville Sausage
  • Kohler Co.
  • Sargento Foods Inc

Thank you to The Osthoff Resort for providing their beautiful space for the event!

Thank you to LAKE 98.1 for sponsoring air-time to promote this event!

Thank you to Lakeshore Technical College and RICHO for donating the printing of the programs.

Special thanks to the annual supporters of the Volunteer Center!


Kohler Co. Stewardship

Special thanks to the Awards Advisory Committee Members

Janine Chesebro | Amanda Ecker | Chay Vue

Share this on: